生物信息采集预约(含指纹)常见问题解答

更新于2020年9月17日

无论您申请的是美国永久居留权(“绿卡”)、入籍、身份变更、工作许可、旅行证件、庇护,还是其他种类的移民福利,美国公民及移民服务局(简称“美国移民局”)都会要求您安排生物信息采集预约。您提交申请书或申请了特定类别的移民福利几周或几个月后,将会收到一封生物信息采集预约通知(参见下方样本),通知您生物信息采集的确切地点、日期及具体时间。有关您在生物信息采集预约期间提供的生物信息,美国移民局有权确认您的身份并进行必要的背景调查及安全检查。 

I-797 notice for biometrics appointment
I-797生物信息采集预约通知

DYgreencard可以协助您准备与移民相关的各种申请。例如,I-485境内调整身份获得绿卡,为配偶父母子女兄弟姐妹提出I-130 移民申请,为未婚妻或未婚夫申请I-129F/K1签证I-751两年临时绿卡转正式绿卡,I-765工卡申请,I-90 更新绿卡,N-400申请入籍,I-131申请回美证返美证难民旅行证,以及更多申请。您只需网上回答一些简单的问题并将证明文件上传到我们的网上平台,我们便可为您准备申请文件。所有申请文件都将由专业的移民律师仔细审核,以确保申请获得移民局的批准。详细了解我们的服务内容和流程。

本文解答了生物信息采集预约常见的九个问题:

1. 生物信息采集预约(包含打指纹)在哪里进行?

生物信息采集将在您所在地附近的美国移民局或申请支持中心进行。有关申请支持中心的位置信息一览表,请参阅美国移民局及办公处的定位

注意:预约处负责采集生物信息的工作人员无法读取您的文件,也无法为您提供有关移民的建议或信息。

2. 生物信息采集预约的具体事宜有哪些?

生物信息是一个科学术语,指的是解剖或生理数据,通过这些数据可以对一个人进行识别。在生物信息采集预约处,美国移民局会收集您的指纹,对您拍照,并采集您的电子签名。

预约结束后,工作人员将会在您的预约通知上盖章,确认您已赴约。请务必小心保管此文件,日后需要文件时或美国移民局找不到您已赴约的记录时均可及时出示。

3. 打指模需要携带哪些文件?

您需随身携带以下文件:

因为您要进入联邦大楼,所以要提前计划好不应携带的东西,比如食物、无盖饮料、相机(包括带摄像头的手机)或各种电子设备、小折刀或任何可以当作武器的东西。您可能需要通过一个安检门,以扫描您携带的个人物品。

4. 生物信息采集预约持续时间是多久?

其实采集生物信息只需大约15分钟,但前往美国移民局办公处本身可能是一个漫长的旅程,因此您需预留足够的时间方可到达。

只有在接近您的预约时间时,工作人员方可允许您进入联邦大楼。通常建议提前30分钟到达。掐钟点及错过预约均可能会导致长时间的延误或美国移民局认为您打算放弃申请。

还请注意:很多人的预约时间与您的预约时间相同。因此,在相同的预约时间内,工作人员将会遵循“先到先得”的原则采集信息。到达办公处后,工作人员会为您发放排队序号的数字小票。

5. 生物信息采集预约可以改期吗?

可以,具体操作请参见预约通知。通知会指示您如何以书面形式提出重新安排时间的请求。

务必尽快再次预约,同时请注意重新安排时间可能会延迟工作人员对您申请的决定。如果您无法在安排的预约日期之前告知移民局,请立即咨询移民律师

6. 生物信息采集预约时可以提前进入吗?

在COVID-19新冠疫情期间,答案是否定的。

在非疫情期间,答案取决于具体的申请支持中心。大多数申请支持中心都允许提前进入。之所以将预约安排在一个特定的日期和时间内,是因为许多申请支持中心的办公空间都不大,无法同时接待一大群人。 通常情况下,申请支持中心早上都很忙,所以最好在下午,且在下午3点之前进入。

7. 能去其他申请支持中心进行生物信息采集吗?

同样,在疫情期间,不可以。

在非疫情期间,取决于具体的申请支持中心。大多数申请支持中心都允许。许多人都已在其他申请支持中心成功完成了生物信息采集预约,尽管预约信将他们分配的不是同一家申请支持中心。这种情况时常发生在人们出城旅行时。 

8. 采集的生物信息数据有什么用途?

照片除帮助美国移民局确定您的真实身份外,还常用于创建身份证或文档(比如您的绿卡,工作许可证/工卡,旅行或文档);指纹用于联邦调查局和其他安全部门检查您的犯罪记录和移民记录。

14岁以下或79岁以上的申请者不需要联邦调查局的指纹检查,但如果需要照片,工作人员仍会要求此类申请者进行生物信息采集。

许多类型的刑事定罪或违反安全及移民规定的行为都是不可受理或被驱逐出境的理由,任何一种都可能让您失去申请移民福利的资格。

生物信息采集预约结果只有15个月的有效期。有效期过后,您可能不得不再次进行生物信息采集预约。

9. 如果有犯罪记录怎么办?

如果有犯罪记录,您可能无资格申请移民福利,这意味着您的申请会被拒绝。但并非所有的犯罪记录都会对申请产生如此负面的影响。如果您有犯罪记录,建议您在向美国移民局提交申请前咨询移民律师

相关内容:

DYgreencard — 更低的价格便可获得移民律师的专业知识


(版权属于DYgreencard.com,如需转载或引用,请注明转自或引自DYgreencard.com字样。)

Biometrics Appointment FAQ

Updated on 08/25/2020

Whether you are applying for U.S. lawful permanent residence (“green card”), naturalization, change of status, employment authorization, travel document, asylum, or one of various other types of immigration benefits, U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (“USCIS”) will require you to attend what is called a biometrics appointment. After you file the petition or application for certain immigration benefit, you will receive a biometrics appointment notice some weeks or months later in the mail (see sample below). This will give you an exact place, date, and time at which you are expected to show up. The biometrics you provide during your biometrics appointment allow USCIS to confirm your identity and run required background and security checks.

I-797 notice for biometrics appointment
I-797 notice for biometrics appointment

At DYgreencard, we may help you handle many types of applications, like I-485 adjustment of status to apply for green card, I-130 immigrant petition for spouse, parent, child, or siblingI-751 petition to remove conditions on green card, I-765 application for employment authorization, I-90 application to renew green card, N-400 application for naturalization, I-131 application for reentry permit or advance parole or refugee travel document, and more. All you need to do is just answer a few simple questions online and upload supporting documents to our platform. Then we take care of the rest. The entire application package will be carefully reviewed by a professional immigration attorney to ensure its final approval by USCIS. Learn more about what we can do for you.

This article answers nine frequently asked questions regarding the biometrics appointment:

1. Where the biometrics appointment will be held?

The appointment may be held at the office of USCIS that serves your geographical area, or at an Application Support Center (“ASC”). For a list of ASCs, see the USCIS Service and Office Locator.

Realize that the people who collect biometrics at these appointments do not have access to your file, and cannot give you advice or information about your immigration case.

2. What happens at the fingerprint appointment?

Biometrics is a scientific term that means anatomical or physiological data by which a person can be uniquely identified. At your biometrics appointment, USCIS will collect your fingerprints, take your photo, and have you sign your name for electronic capture.

At the end of this appointment, you will be given a stamp on your appointment notice confirming that you attended. Safeguard this document carefully, in case you are later asked for it or USCIS cannot find its own record that you attended the appointment.

3. What to bring with me to the biometrics appointment?

You will need to bring along:

  • the biometrics appointment notice from USCIS
  • a photo ID, such as a drivers’ license, passport, green card (required if apply for naturalization)
  • any other documents USCIS has specifically requested on your appointment notice

Because you will be entering into a federal building, also plan ahead for what you should NOT bring, such as food, beverages without a lid, cameras (including camera phones) or various types of electronic devices, and pocket knives or anything else that could be considered a weapon. You might have to pass through a metal detector and have your personal items scanned.

4. How long will the biometrics appointment take?

Actually collecting your biometrics will take only around 15 minutes. However, getting to the USCIS office itself may be a long trip for you; made longer by the fact that you should leave plenty of time to get there.

You will not, however, be let into the building until close to the time of your appointment. Usually, arriving there 30 minutes earlier is recommended.   Nevertheless, cutting it close on timing and missing the appointment can result in either long delays or USCIS presuming that you mean to abandon your application.

Also realize that a number of people received the same appointment time as you did. Within that time slot, you and they will all be seen on a first-come, first-served basis. Once you arrive, you be given a number indicating your place in line.

5. Can I reschedule the biometrics appointment?

Yes. See the appointment notice. It will give you instructions for requesting a reschedule, which you must do in writing.

Take care of this as soon as possible, and realize that this rescheduling may delay a decision on your application. If you realize that you cannot notify USCIS before the scheduled appointment date, consult an immigration attorney immediately.

6. Can I do earlier walk-in for the biometrics appointment?

In the duration of COVID-19 pandemic, the answer should be no.

In normal times without pandemic, the answer will depend on the specific ASC and most will allow it. The reason you are scheduled for a specific date and time is that many ASC are located in small rooms and would not be able to handle a large group of people all at once. Normally, ASC is busy in the morning. So it is advisable to do the walk-in in the afternoon but before 3:00 pm.

7. Can I go to another ASC for bometrics?

Again, during the period of the pandemic, the answer should be no.

In regular periods without pandemic, the answer will depend on the specific ASC and most will allow it. Many individuals had success at another ASC to finish their biometric appointment although the appointment letter assigns them to other ASC. This happens a lot when people are traveling out of town.  

8. What the data on me is used for?

Aside from helping USCIS make sure that you are really you, the biometrics photo is often used to create an identity card or document (such as your green card, work permit/EAD, travel or document), and the fingerprints are used for an FBI and other security services check of your criminal and immigration record.

Applicants under 14 or over 79 years of age will not need an FBI fingerprint check, but they will still be called in for biometrics if their photo is needed.

Many types of criminal convictions or security and immigration violations are grounds of inadmissibility or deportability, either of which might make you ineligible for the immigration benefit you are applying for.

The results of your biometrics appointment are good for only 15 months. Therefore, if that time passes and your case is still under consideration, you may be asked to return for another biometrics appointment.

9. What if I have a criminal record?

If you have a criminal record, you may be not eligible for the immigration benefit you are applying for, which means your application will be denied. However, not all criminal record has such negative effect on your application. If you have a criminal record, it is advisable for you to consult an immigration attorney before you file the application to USCIS.

Related Topics:

DYgreencard — for people who want the expertise of immigration lawyer, with a lower price.


(Copyright by DYgreencard.com. To copy or distribute any of its content must be marked with the sentence “copied or distributed from DYgreencard.com”.)